Examining the Diet for Celiac Disease Sufferers

If you have just found out that you have celiac disease, you may be intimidated by the prospect of making your diet entirely gluten-free in San Jose. Although this may seem like a daunting task, there are ways you can approach it that will allow you to continue to enjoy the food you eat; there are even substitutes you can use so that you can still enjoy your favorite deep dish pizza. Keep reading if you are interested in examining the diet for celiac disease sufferers.

Naturally Gluten-Free Groups

When you find out that you have celiac disease, you can start modifying your diet by identifying which groups of Gluten-Free Diet San Jose foods are naturally free of gluten. Between fish, meat, poultry, dairy, and fruits and vegetables, there are actually many options to choose from. You will have no problem continuing to enjoy a fruit salad or a berry shake throughout the day. Keep in mind that it is important to read all labels when you buy items from these food groups nonetheless. Certain dried and processed fruits may not necessarily be gluten-free, so it is important to check before consuming.

Substitutes

Modern technology and industry methods allow for the production of alternative versions of all kinds of foods. Vegetarians can find “chicken” patties that are not actually made of chicken, and celiac disease sufferers can find gluten-free versions of the foods they have always loved. It may seem like this information solves all of your problems, but it comes with a small caveat: While you can find and enjoy these gluten-free substitutes for your favorite foods, the bulk of your diet should still be made up of naturally gluten-free foods. This means that you can feel free to enjoy gluten-free pizza, but you must complement it with fruits and vegetables.

Grains

Many grains are naturally gluten-free, making them viable options for the celiac disease sufferer’s diet. These grains include rice, beans, soy, potato, and many more. It is important to note that bulk bins should be avoided because you cannot rule out the possibility of cross contamination with other grains that do contain gluten.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *